Is octopus Halal in Islam? Best Guide With References 2022

Comprehensive Islam - Is octopus Halal in Islam

Octopuses are fascinating creatures that live in the deep sea. But, is octopus halal or haram in Islam?

The world is full of stories about octopuses. Octopuses are some of the most amazing animals on the planet. They can change the color of their skin, which is very cool. They can squeeze through very small holes. There are stories of them being able to squeeze their arms through the bars of a cage.

When people think of the word Halal they think of the food they eat. But, there is much more to Halal than just food. It is one of the five pillars of Islam. In this article, I will explain what it is, what it means, and how Muslims can be sure that what they are eating is Halal.

The word “Halal” literally translates to “permissible” in Arabic. It is used to refer to things that are permissible to eat, drink or perform in Islam. 

Nowadays, the Islamic community is discussing halal and haram, especially in the context of sea creatures. We know seafood is loved all around the world but as Muslims, we must consider the principles of halal and haram in our minds. 

So the most frequently asked question by Muslims is about octopus.

Let me explain to you in detail. 

As Allah is the ruler of the whole universe. So he has also made some rules and principles for mankind to follow in every field of life. 

These are commonly known as “Shariya”. The word Shariya means the orders and commands given by Allah and delivered by Prophet Muhammad to mankind. Shariya guides mention faith, prayers, financial investments, Zakat and Haj, etc. 

In addition, Shariya has a vast number of branches but today we will discuss the concept of halal and haram in Islam. 

What do Halal and Haram mean? 

In detail, the words halal and haram are antonyms of each other. Halal is an Arabic word meaning “legal and acceptable” while haram means “forbidden and unacceptable”. 

When it comes to sea creatures in the context of the Islamic point of view. According to the Sharia, the meat which is allowed to eat is called halal. Similarly, haram meat isn’t allowed to be eaten. 

Categories Of Organisms According To Their Habitat 

All the organisms had been divided into three categories according to their habitat.

  1. Animals 
  2. Birds 
  3. Aquatic life 

So how can we classify that much diversity in the category of haram and halal? 

Well, the Quran has given us the answer. 

“He has explained to you what is forbidden (haram) for you “. (Surah Anam verse 119).

It means Allah has told us the list of haram organisms like pork, dog, lion, etc.   So automatically the rest of the animals, birds, and aquatic life would be halal. It is a general principle.  Because it isn’t possible to name each organism individually and categorize it as halal or haram. 

The Difference In Opinion About Aquatic Life: 

As there is little difference among the opinions regarding the list of halal and haram organisms, it is common when it comes to animals and birds but scholars have different opinions about aquatic life.   

There are four schools of thought in Islam. 

  • Hanafi
  • Maliki
  • Shafei 
  • Hanbali

All Fukha (religious scholars) consider fish halal but their opinion differs in the case of shrimp, lobster, and octopus. But we will focus on octopuses in this blog

Is octopus Halal or Haram in Islam

Is octopus halal or haram according to Hanafees?

According to Hanafis, only fish is halal to eat whether it is of any type. Except for the one which is poisonous and can cause some serious illness. Where eating octopus, shrimp, and lobsters isn’t allowed in Hanafi Fiqah.  

But there is a confusion

The Prophet was asked about seawater, and he said” its water is a means of purification and its dead meat is permissible” ( Ibn e Maja hadees no 386).

Similarly, Hazrat Abu Huraira narrated:  A man came and asked the prophet if we can use seawater for ablution. The messenger of Allah responded “its water is a means of purification and its dead meat (murdar) is permissible” (Ibn e Maja hadees 388).  

Quran says about dead meat: 

But if we head to the Quran, dead meat isn’t halal to eat.

In surah maida, Allah clearly says “ prohibited to you are dead animals “ (surah 5 verse 3).

It means all types of dead meat means “Murdar” is haram whether it comes from the sea or the earth.  


Why did the Prophet PBUH call dead meat of the sea halal?

Well, all of the dead meat isn’t allowed to consume, except for the following that is discussed in hadith. 

Prophet clearly says in his hadith 

“Two types of dead meat are halal ”

  • Fish
  • Locusts

So it is clear from above hadees that all of the dead meat whether it is on earth or in the sea is haram. Except for fish and locusts. 

Is octopus halal according to other Fiqahs?

The concept of halal sea creatures is different in the case of Imam Shafi and Imam Ahmad bin Hambal from Hanafis. These scholars consider all of the sea creatures halal including fish, lobster crabs, etc, and give reference to the following Quranic Verse. 

“Lawful for you is the food of the sea” “(Surah Nehal)”

So as a general rule all scholars of Maliki, shafi’i and Hanbali consider seafood of any type halal. Except for the one which is prohibited specifically by name in the Quran or hadith. 


What seafood is haram?

Shia Islam allows for the consumption of only fish that has scales like any other water creature, with the exception of shrimp/prawn, and haram (forbidden).

Can Muslims eat shrimp?

Recently the Hyderabad-based Muslim seminary Jamia Nizamia which started in 1876, issued a ban on Muslims eating prawns, shrimp, and crabs, calling them Makruh Tahrim (abominable). … Most Muslims eat all kinds of meat. In fact, the religion defines itself by the eating of meat: even though the Holy Prophet was a vegetarian

Is Crab haram in Islam?

Prawns, Crabs, Shrimps, Lobsters, and Oysters are all examples of shellfish. The majority of the scholars of Islam consider all types of shellfish to be halal. So Prawns, Shrimps, Lobsters, Crabs, and Oysters are all seafood that is halal to eat in Islam. They consider all shellfish to be Makruh (detestable).

Are Sea Turtles Halal or Haram?

The majority of the scholars of Islam consider sea turtles as seafood that is halal.
The Maliki, Shafi’i, and Hanbali scholars all consider sea turtles to be halal.


Different opinions among Islamic scholars about the principles of shariah are a blessing for the Muslim ummah according to hadith.

In Addition, these scholars tried to extract fact-based conclusions from the Quran and hadees about every aspect of sharia like haj, zakat, prayers, etc.

It is now up to us to follow any of them that we think has given the most authentic logic and references, in every branch of sharia. 

Who do you think has given the most authentic and sharia-based explanation about the question “Is octopus halal?” 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *