Is Spirit vinegar halal | A Briefly Discussed Topic 

A well-known staple food item called vinegar is created from wine whose composition has changed so that it is now acidic or sour and no longer sweet.

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “What an excellent food vinegar is.” Jabir (may Allah be pleased with him). (Muslim)

Ruling on wine made from vinegar 

The scholars believe that due to the hadith mentioned above, when wine naturally turns to vinegar without any intentional treatment being required, it is okay to eat, drink, and handle.

However, the scholars (may Allah have compassion on them) disagree whether it is permitted if the wine has intentionally been turned into vinegar by adding vinegar, onions, salt, etc., or by any other technique.

According to different Fiqh 

According to the Shafi’is, Hanbalis, and some Malikis, turning wine into vinegar on purpose is prohibited since it taints the product’s purity. 

Anas ibn Malik’s (may Allah be pleased with him) hadith, which states that the Prophet of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) questioned whether wine could be altered to be used as vinegar, serves as proof for this. So he responded, “No

( Muslims)

According to Abu Talhah, the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) was questioned regarding some orphans who had inherited some wine (may Allah be pleased with him).

 Pour it away, he commanded. Could they not turn it into vinegar? Did someone question him? “No,” he replied. (According to Muslims)

Why is it not permissible to change wine to vinegar?

We are required to refrain from drinking wine by Allah; may He be glorified and exalted. It is not permissible to handle or be connected with the substance by keeping it or otherwise processing it until it turns into vinegar.

Unless a Muslim knows or learns that vinegar was created via an intentional technique, it is permissible for him to purchase vinegar from someone selling it. ‘“There is nothing wrong with a man buying vinegar from the people of the Book if they sell it, so long as he understands that they did not purposefully produce it from wine,” said Umar (may Allah be pleased with him).

Allah is the wisest.


Since spirit vinegar is manufactured from wine that has been fermented with the help of a barley mash, it is not halal. The wine is distilled to create the vinegar. Barley, wheat, or rye can make the fermented mash.

For Muslims, the only vinegar that can be consumed is that which has been made using the “Dutch method.” It is made by mashing fermented grape wine with soda ash and allowing it to ferment.


Does spirit vinegar have alcohol in it?

Spirit Vinegar is mainly used as a food ingredient made from neat Ethanol. However, with the addition of Malt extract to color the liquid, Spirit Vinegar is also used as a cheaper alternative to Malt Vinegar.

What is the difference between vinegar and spirit vinegar?

They differ fundamentally in their acetic acid content. White, also known as spirit vinegar, has 5% to 20% acetic acid.

Can I use spirit vinegar for cooking?

Both white and distilled vinegar is used not only for cooking but also for cleaning, baking, meat preservation, pickling, and sometimes even for laboratory and medicinal purposes.

What is another name for spirit vinegar?

White vinegar, also known as distilled vinegar or spirit vinegar, is made by fermenting grain alcohol (Ethanol) which then turns into acetic acid.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *