Are Energy Drinks Halal? Best Guide 2022

Comprehensive Islam - Are Energy Drinks Halal

Are Energy Drinks Halal? Let’s check it out. Energy drinks are consumed worldwide by teens, young, and adults because they increase short-term memory and are like a source of energy providers to the body. 

They provide people with an extra boost of energy for long periods. Athletes also use them to provide an extra burst of energy for high-intensity workouts.

There are many benefits to using energy drinks. First, it keeps you focused and alert during a long workday. 

But have you ever thought, are they even halal?

In this blog, you will get detailed and authentic answers with references. 

Are Energy Drinks Halal?

The general rule for halal and haram drinks 

The scholars give a general rule to decide whether a drink is halal. It states, “the drinks that are non-alcoholic and don’t contain animal products like blood, ligaments or bone are halal. 

Red Bull- A full-flavored Energy Drink 

Comprehensive Islam - Red bull

Red Bull is a caffeine-containing energy drink. People who need to stay awake consume Red Bull. It contains caffeine as well as Sugar. It is drunk in the morning and afternoon. People who are on a diet drink Red Bull. It helps you stay awake without being tired. 

Is red Bull halal to drink? 

To know whether the red Bull is halal or haram, we have to apply the thumb rule given by scholars that I mentioned above. 

 However, before declaring it halal or haram, we must study its ingredients in detail. 

Red Bull contains the following ingredients. 


Caffeine is a drug found in coffee beans and cacao plants etc. About 60 different species have this natural stimulator caffeine in them. 

This drug helps to increase brain function and short-term memory and boosts metabolism

Some studies by experts also show that caffeine helps decrease stroke risk by 14 to 20%.

Red Bull contains 80mg of caffeine, an excellent source to boost your energy.

Similarly, fuqaha (Islamic scholars ) consider it halal to consume. 

B-group vitamins and Sugars

The second ingredient in red Bull is B-group vitamins and Sugar. 

Vitamin B plays an essential role in regulating the body’s metabolism. As a result, there are several benefits to taking these supplements, including preventing depression and improving the quality of sleep.

These vitamins are also essential for maintaining the health of your hair and nails.

B vitamins help to manufacture red blood cells (RBCs) and play a vital function in cell metabolism.

They also regulate skin cells and brain tissues. 

Carbohydrates and Sugar are both simple sugars. They are the primary source of energy for the body. When we eat foods containing carbohydrates and Sugar, our bodies break down the carbs and Sugar and turn them into energy.

 Foods such as bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, corn, and beans have carbs. 

As the above products are halal, sugars and B-group vitamins are also allowed to consume. 

Alpine water 

Alpine water is a very pure type of water found in the mountains. It is crystal clear and has a high level of minerals.

Water from an alpine source is rich in minerals. It has a high amount of dissolved oxygen, which is essential for your health.

 This water comes from springs near the production sites of Red Bull. the common production sites of red Bull are in Austria and Switzerland.


Taurine is the most controversial ingredient in Red bull. 

Some people claim the taurine used in red Bull comes from the testes of the Bull. But the truth is the taurine present in Red Bull is synthesized artificially by companies.

As we know, taurine doesn’t come from Bull’s testes. 

So, it is allowed to drink red Bull containing taurine synthesized by pharmaceutical companies. 

Is red Bull halal- A precise Answer 

It is not permissible if a drink contains alcohol or some haram ingredients such as blood, bone, etc. 

But we have studied the ingredients in detail, and there is no single ingredient that is haram. So it’s allowed to consume red Bull. 


What are Energy Drinks?

Energy Drinks contain taurine and caffeine in them. 
They provide a quick burst of energy.

Is red bull alcoholic? 

Red Bull is not alcoholic. However, it contains caffeine which may give you an energy boost but is not a substitute for alcohol.

Is red Bull addictive? 

Red Bull is a very caffeinated energy drink, and although it is not addictive, it can cause dependency in some people.

Is red Bull banned in any country? 

France, Norway, and Denmark have banned red Bull due to health issues. 

Why is Red Bull so expensive?

Red Bull is made from natural ingredients and is a great energy source. However, because of its high caffeine content, it is costly.


Many think they’re only for athletes or those who work out. But that’s not right. They have plenty of benefits. For example, they are beneficial for weight loss, as an appetite suppressant, or even to help you sleep better.

 It helps to make you more satisfied with your meals, making it easier to control your eating habits.

All energy drinks that don’t contain alcohol and taurine derived from the body or blood are halal, including Red Bull.  

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *